ACEC Colorado Installs 2020-21 Elected Board of Directors

Karlene Thomas is the newly elected president of ACEC Colorado.

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado (ACEC Colorado) installed its newly elected 2020-21 Board of Directors at the organization’s Annual Meeting on April 24.

Karlene Thomas, PE (Pinyon Environmental – Colorado Springs, Colo.) will serve as president and accepted the gavel virtually from Past President Brad Doyle, PE (Atkins – Denver) during the ceremony. Additional board members include Bill Green, PE (The RMH Group – Lakewood, Colo.) as vice-president; Gary Clark, PE (Muller Engineering – Lakewood, Colo.) as secretary-treasurer; and Peter Monroe, PE (Monroe & Newell Engineers, Now IMEG – Denver) as the ACEC National director from Colorado.

The Denver metro area directors are:

  • Dean Bradley, PE (Felsburg Holt & Ullevig – Centennial, Colo.)
  • Greg Kishiyama, PE (Farnsworth Group – Greenwood Village, Colo.)
  • Jack Petersen, PE (Martin/Martin – Lakewood, Colo.)
  • Kara Swanson (David Evans & Associates – Denver)

Scott Asher, PE (Wilson & Company – Colorado Springs, Colo.) is the south area director; Dan Overton, PE (Engineering Analytics – Fort Collins, Colo.) will serve as the north area director; and John Sikora, PE (AECOM – Glenwood Springs, Colo.) is the west area director.

During her incoming president’s speech at the annual meeting, Thomas delivered the following message, “I believe that the key to thriving in uncertain times and an unknown future is to push the envelope. My goal as president of ACEC Colorado is to advocate for engineers to be messy problem dissolvers, to transform ourselves to embrace technology and to be pioneers.”

In addition to this advocacy for change, Thomas also focused on ACEC Colorado’s new mission statement, “To advance a business environment that helps consulting engineering firms thrive,” and highlights from its forthcoming strategic plan, scheduled for release in July.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top