Movers and Shakers Week Ending 12.21.18

Movers and Shakers

RTA Architects Welcomes Seven New Team Members

Ben Foster
Christine Costa

RTA Architects has welcomed seven new staff members to their architectural and marketing teams over the last few months. The new Architectural team members are Architects Ben Foster, Christine Costa, and Jon Houck, and Emerging Professionals Erika Everett, Mitchell Starrs, and Jordan Johnston.

Architect Ben Foster, AIA is a LEED Accredited Professional and brings nine years of experience to RTA after working in California, New York, and Pennsylvania. He received his Master of Architecture from the University of Michigan. Architect Christine Costa, RA received her Master of Architecture from Lawrence Technological University and has 10 years of commercial and historic renovation experience in Michigan. Architect Jon Houck, RA joined RTA after working on both the East and West coasts upon graduating Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Architecture from California Polytechnic State University.

Jon Houck

After receiving her Master of Architecture degree from the University of Oregon, Portland, Emerging Professional Ericka Everett joined RTA with six years of experience already under her belt. Emerging Professional Jordan Johnston, Assoc. AIA., came to RTA from Indiana upon receiving his Master of Architecture degree from Ball State University. Emerging Professional Mitchell Starrs, Assoc. AIA, EDAC is a LEED Green Associate and first joined RTA as a student intern. He then rejoined the company full time after completing his Master of Architecture from the University of Kansas.

The new member of RTA’s Marketing team is Marketing Assistant Kitaen Jones. Kitaen joined RTA after gaining experience in the communications sector of public health. She graduated from the University of Memphis with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism and English.

RTA warmly welcomes all our new team members and looks forward to their contributions and growth in their career


CBRE’s Frederic de Loizaga and Charley Will Elected to Denver Metro Commercial Association of REALTORS® Board of Directors Executive Committee

Frederic de Loizaga
Charley Will

CBRE announced this week that two of its local professionals have been elected to serve on the Denver Metro Commercial Association of REALTORS® (DMCAR) Board of Directors Executive Committee for the coming year. Frederic de Loizaga, who has been part of the DMCAR Executive Committee for four years, will now serve as the board’s president, and Charley Will is the new treasurer.

Frederic de Loizaga is a vice president with CBRE’s Advisory & Transaction Services | Occupier, where he specializes in helping office occupiers with their real estate needs across the Denver metro area. In addition to his involvement with DMCAR, Mr. de Loizaga also serves on the board of directors for the South Metro Denver Chamber of Commerce and a local non-profit, Project Helping. In 2014, he was recognized by the Denver Business Journal as a 40 under 40 nominee and as CBRE’s Community Person of the Year. The prior year he was named the South Metro Denver Chamber Economic Development Group Person of the Year. Before joining CBRE in 2007, Mr. de Loizaga played professional baseball for three years with the Los Angeles Angels in Anaheim, California. He is a graduate of Regis University.

Charley Will is a senior associate with CBRE Capital Markets in Denver. Part of a group led by Mike Winn and Tim Richey, Mr. Will specializes in the sale of institutional-quality office and retail properties across Colorado. Prior to joining CBRE, he was a financial analyst with Cushman & Wakefield in Denver. Since beginning his career in 2012, Mr. Will has played an integral role in office and retail sale transactions totaling more than $7 billion. Mr. Will is a Denver native and graduate of the University of South Carolina.

DMCAR is the oldest and largest commercial real estate trade association in the United States comprising 2,000 commercial real estate professionals across Colorado. It is led by CEO Katie Kruger.

“DMCAR’s Executive Committee really takes Colorado’s biggest commercial real estate issues and places them in front of our policy makers with action in mind. Mr. de Loizaga’s understanding of economic development and his natural ability to build consensus makes him our ideal choice for President. His work alongside Mr. Will and all members of our Executive Committee in the year ahead will focus on taking the commercial real estate community’s knowledge of projects and policy to an elite level in the metro area and setting the stage for Denver to be known as a tier one international city,” said Ms. Kruger.

In addition to Mr. de Loizaga and Mr. Will, DMCAR’s Board of Directors Executive Committee also includes Paul Schneider of Pinnacle Real Estate Advisors (incoming president), Courtney Key with SullivanHayes (past president) and Erika Shorter of Evergreen Devco, Inc. (secretary).


AIA Colorado Announces 2019 Board of Directors

President Zach Taylor

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Colorado has announced its 2019 Board of Directors. Elected by members in October, the new board is comprised of architects from across the state and will serve as directors beginning in January 2019.

“Our members share a passion for design, a conviction that it matters and a commitment to improving lives through their work,” said 2019 AIA Colorado Board President, Zachary Taylor, AIA. “I look forward to working with the board to ensure that we serve our 2,400 members and advance the architecture profession in Colorado.”

The 2019 AIA Colorado Board of Directors:

• President: Zach Taylor, AIA, principal architect; Taylor Architecture & Design, LLC
• Past-president: Carl Hole, AIA, principal, head of Denver public architecture studio; Stantec
• President-elect: Adam Harding, AIA, partner; Roth Sheppard Architects
• Treasurer: Well Squier, AIA, principal, Anderson Hallas Architects
• Secretary: Rachael Johnson, AIA, architect; Davis Partnership Architects
• Director, Denver: Ignacio Correa-Ortiz, AIA, senior architect/urban planner; Regional Transportation District (RTD)
• Director, North: H. Lee Hardies, AIA, principal; Infusion Architects
• Director, South: Sheva Willoughby, AIA, architect; RTA Architects
• Director, West: Cassidy Sanderson, Associate AIA, job captain; Poss Architecture + Planning and Interior Design
• Associate Director: Kaylyn Kirby, Associate AIA, architectural designer; Semple Brown Design
• Ex-officio: Amy Blagriff, Honorary AIA, Interim CEO, AIA Colorado


The RMH Group Congratulates Charlie Basil and Erik Johnson for Passing the Professional Engineer Exam

Erik Johnson
Charlie Basil

The RMH Group (RMH) is proud to announce that Charlie Basil and Erik Johnson recently passed the Professional Engineer (P.E.) exam in electrical engineering and are now licensed engineers in Colorado.

Basil has been with RMH for his entire professional career including a summer internship during college. He has designed electrical systems for higher education facilities, central plants, data centers, military bases, manufacturing facilities, and water/wastewater facilities. Basil earned a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Colorado School of Mines in 2014 and is a licensed electrical apprentice (Colorado).

Johnson has also been with RMH for his entire professional career including an internship during college. His professional engineering experience includes projects for aerospace and other manufacturing clients, Federal research facilities, data centers, higher education facilities, central plants, a petrochemical control building, military bases, and water/wastewater facilities. Johnson earned a B.S. degree in engineering (with electrical specialty) from Colorado School of Mines in 2014.


Related Posts

Scroll to Top