ACEC Colorado Scholarship & Education Foundation Awards $40,500 to College Students

ACEC Colorado 2018 scholarship recipients attending honor reception. (back row, l-r): Sammons, Fraser, Spengler, Guinta, Kerstiens and Rader; (front row, l-r): O’Donnell-Sloan, Schneider and Freytag.

DENVER The American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado’s Scholarship & Education Foundation (ACEC Colorado Foundation) recently awarded $40,500 in college scholarships to 14 students during a reception at Maxson Engineering, in Littleton.

The 2018 scholarships recipients were selected from a pool of 50 applicants representing eight Colorado colleges with engineering programs accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering & Technology. Applicants were judged on their academic records, involvement in student chapters of professional organizations, and their community service.

Several memorial scholarships were awarded in honor of engineers and others who have contributed to Colorado’s consulting engineering industry. Katherine McQuie, an environmental and chemical engineering student at the University of Colorado (CU) Boulder, received the $6,000 Leonard Rice Memorial Scholarship. Cherish Spangler, a mechanical engineering student at CU Boulder, received the $5,000 William Russell Stoneman Scholarship. Caleb Ring, a geological engineering student at Colorado School of Mines (CSM) in Golden was awarded the $4,000 Fu Hua Chen Scholarship. Katie Kerstiens, an environmental engineering student at CSM, received $3,000 for the Muller Engineering James M. Condon Memorial Scholarship. Theresa O’Donnell-Sloan, who studies at Colorado State University (CSU) Fort Collins, accepted the James M. Condon Family Scholarship, which was established this year to recognize a civil engineering student. Camden Fraser, a mining engineering student at CSM, received the $3,000 Sandy Donnel Memorial Scholarship. Additionally, in partnership with the American Public Works Association (APWA) Colorado, the $2,500 Jack Bruce Memorial Scholarship was awarded to CSM mechanical engineering student Nicholas Sammons for the second consecutive year.

ACEC Colorado scholarships in the amount of $2,000 were awarded to Cole Casey, a mechanical engineering student at CSM; Megan Freytag, an environmental engineering student at CSM; Maggie Guinta, an environmental engineering student at CSM; Katherine Schneider, an engineering physics student at CSM; Claire Meyer, a mechanical engineering student at CU Boulder; Olivia Rader, a mechanical engineering student at CU Colorado Springs; and Noah Messick, a civil engineering student at CSU Pueblo.

The scholarship recipients were selected by the following ACEC Colorado members: Jeff Kobriger, PE (HCDA Engineering); Les Botham, PE (retired from Leonard Rice Engineers); Steve Hibbeler, PE (Muller Engineering); Chris Strawn, PE (Ware Malcomb); Chris Tepen, PE (Stanley Consultants); and Bryant Walters, PE (Collins Engineers). Dixie Shear, PE, also participated in the judging process as a representative of APWA Colorado.

ACEC Colorado Foundation also provided educational support to organizations that promote math and science to high school students by awarding $2,500 to the Architecture, Construction and Engineering (ACE) Mentor Program and $2,000 to Colorado’s annual High School Bridge Building Contest, which is sponsored by the Bureau of Reclamation, the National Society of Professional Engineers of Colorado, and ACEC Colorado. Nathaniel Westlake, a junior at Rampart High School, Colorado Springs, won this scholarship.

ACEC Colorado Foundation funding is supported by individual and corporate contributions as well as proceeds from an annual golf tournament, scheduled this year for Monday, Aug. 6, at Colorado National Golf Club (Erie).

Photo courtesy of The Unfound Door

Related Posts

Scroll to Top