Colorado Preservation to Honor Terry Knight and Six Others at Dana Crawford Awards

Colorado Preservation
The Denver Botanic Gardens will we awarded with an Alpine State Bank Honor Award. Credit; Colorado Preservation

Colorado Preservation, Inc.’s 33rd annual Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards Celebration will be held on Monday, May 22, 2023 at the Denver Botanical Gardens in the Freyer-Newman Center. Through these awards, Colorado Preservation, Inc. (CPI) recognizes the accomplishments of individuals and projects exhibiting excellence in the areas of preservation, rehabilitation, advocacy, philanthropy and leadership.

“This is Colorado’s premier preservation awards event where we honor individuals and organizations that make significant contributions toward preserving Colorado’s heritage,” Executive Director Jennifer Orrigo Charles said. “The evening’s namesake is Dana Crawford, a true preservation pioneer who proved that saving historic buildings makes both cultural and economic sense. Hundreds of preservationists from throughout the state join us at this annual celebration.”

Tribal Historic Preservation Officer Terry Knight

The 2023 Dana Crawford Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation will be presented to Tribal Historic Preservation Officer Terry Knight, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe. Knight has a long and lasting legacy of cultural preservation serving the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe for more than four decades. He is a respected spiritual leader who has held the position of Bear Dance Chief and Sundance Chief and he continues to serve as the tribe’s official cultural preservation representative. His dedication to preserving and protecting Ute heritage throughout Colorado has and will continue to inspire future generations of Ute cultural preservationists.

In addition to recognizing Terry Knight with the Dana Crawford Award, CPI will recognize three projects with Alpine State Bank Honor Awards:

  • Yellow School, Gilpin County
  • Mancos Opera House, Montezuma County
  • Denver Botanic Gardens and Brian Vogt, Denver County

CPI will also be recognizing the DOLA Main Street Open for Business statewide grant program with a Preservation Edge Award and the World’s Wonder View Tower in Lincoln County with the Endangered Places Progress Award as this property has made significant advancements since it first became listed as one of Colorado’s Most Endangered Place. New for 2023, CPI will be introducing the Mark Rodman Community Leader Award, an annual award in honor of preservation champion and former Executive Director (2002-2008) Mark Rodman. This inaugural award will honor Abbey Christman.

The Dana Crawford Awards kicks off at 5 p.m. with cocktails and conversation followed by dinner and a presentation of the awards by Ernest House, Jr., member of the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe and Executive Secretary for the Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs (CCIA).  The program will feature engaging and inspirational videos detailing the stories of the projects and honorees celebrated at the event. Following the presentation, guests are invited to visit with the honorees and fellow preservation enthusiasts.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top